Skip to content

Braised Kale and Yellow Beets

November 30, 2011

 

My usual recipe for beets is a something my mom makes, called Sukkhe. Sukkhe is beets cooked in a coriander, coconut and red chili sauce topped with caramalized onions. The coconut and chili balance the sweetness of the beets, making it a very flavorful dish. So I started making sukkhe today and got as far as sautéing the slices and cooling the beets in the microwave when the power goes off. As unusual as that is for where we live, I couldn’t let my dinner plans go awry!! So I proceeded to continue my cooing- although now I couldn’t make Sukkhe as I needed to grind my spices for the sauce. So plan B ensued- I needed something that will balance the sweetness of the beets- I had some kale, kale is slightly bitter- perfect!!

What You Need

~ 2 Large Beets ( red or yellow)
~ 1 Onion
~ 2 bunches of kale
~ 1.5 tblsp cooking oil
~ 1 tblsp coriander powder
~ 2 tsp red chile powder
~ salt and pepper to taste
~ 1-2 tblsp of shredded fresh coconut
~ juice of 1/2 lime

How It’s Done

• Prep the vegetables: Dice the onions and beets. Chop the kale into small pieces, removing the tough stems
• Steam the beets with a tblsps of water in the microwave till cooked
• Heat 1/2 the oil in a frying pan and fry the onions till golden brown. Remove from pan and reserve.
• Return pan to heat and add remaining oil. Add coriander powder and chili powder when hot. Cook a minute then add the kale and cooked beets.
• Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook covered till kale is done- about 10-15 minutes. The salt will help release juices from the beets and the kale  in which the vegetables will braise.
• Mix shredded coconut and lime juice and serve.
The result was a balanced, flavorful dish that goes well as a side to rice and spicy sambar. Yum!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

