Skip to content

Mango Salad

March 24, 2010

Just got back from dinner at Mingalaba. I remembered the
“Healthy Inspirations – Salads” event being hosted by Usha at Veginspirations and decided to re-post this really yummy and refreshing salad.

I had been meaning to try Mingalaba Restaurant in Burlingame since it opened a year ago. Mingalaba serves Burmese and Mandarin cuisine and I’ve never had Burmese before. I did takeout once and while waiting chatted with some of the patrons who turned out to be regulars. One highly recommended the Mango Salad. So, when we finally went there for dinner a couple of months ago, that’s exactly what I ordered. And, the samosa soup. Yes! Samosa soup – made with that flaky pasty stuffed with potatoes, which is a very popular Indian snack. In reading the menu, I learned that Burmese cuisine is a conglomeration of Indian and Chinese cuisines. There are numerous authentic Burmese items on Mingalaba’s menu. Anyway, back to the Mango Salad. It was crunchy and sweet and sour all at the same time. I am not big on salads but this one left me wanting more! Of course, I had to make it myself. So, I researched the Internet for ‘Burmese Mango Salad’ and found a few. I used this recipe and made it vegetarian, and added another layer of texture and flavor.

What You Need

  • 1 green (unripe) mango
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tsp cooking oil
  • 1 tsp tamarind concentrate
  • 1 Tblsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 a tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp or more of red pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Optional

  • 1/4 cup of peanuts, roasted
  • 1/4 cup of fried onions (the crispy canned kind)

How Its Done

1. Peel the mango and chop it into matchstick like pieces. If you have a mandolin, this is easily done. 2. Chop the onion into thin slices and the garlic into thin disks 3. Heat the oil and add the garlic and fry till golden brown.Set aside the garlic and use the oil in the dressing next. 4. If you’re using raw peanuts, roast them in the microwave for a couple of minutes, checking and moving the around intermittently. 5. Mix the rest of the ingredients ( including the fried garlic) with the garlic oil and add to the mango and onion. Mix well. 6. Serve onto salad plates and garnish with the peanuts and fried onions. The salad was crunchy, tangy, sweet and sour, just like the one at Mingalaba. The peanuts and fried onions add a layer of nuttiness and crunchy texture. Perfect for a warm summer day!

8 Comments
  1. That looks really mouth-watering and thanks to you, I am sure I will be trying another interesting restaurant (after Sanjeevani, if you remember) πŸ™‚

  2. TT, mango + soy sauce must be a sweet and tangy combo. Your mention of samosa soup is making want to explore Burmeese cusine.

  3. Very delish. Thanx for sharing.

  4. Have you tried Burma Superstar in the City? They serve a tealeaf salad which is delish!
    http://veggiemonologues.blogspot.com/2009/05/burma-superstar.html

  5. sukanya permalink

    I tried it today – and amazing! my kids actually call me the kitchen Goddess! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  6. This salad is so inviting and flavorful ! Your description of the salad and the menu makes me want to discover more about Burmese cuisine asap πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this wonderful salad with the Healthy Inspirations Event…..

  7. I had the same experience at Mingalaba last week and fell in love with the Mango Salad. I have been obsessed with replicating it ever since….
    The only thing I would add is that the base of the salad is rehydrated dried shrimp, and it looked to me like they were sauted with the garlic chips. (Even if it is vegetarian, this should be mentioned as it is a key component). The salad description claims there is cucumber in it, so possibly add a small amount of slivered (sllightly pickled?) cucumber,
    Also, it seemed like there was slivered peanut or almond, but that could be optional.

    I am still trying to get the flavor right and intend to add in some fresh ginger. would also add some cilantro for the traditional taste.

    I identify with your craving! I don’t know what it is about this food that makes you want to gulp it by the bucket! Perhaps its based on some vitamin/mineral defficiency. Oh well, at least it’s a healthy addiction πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

