Skip to content

Swiss Chard Lemon Rice

January 25, 2009

lemonchardrice

 

A few months ago, I signed up for home delivery of produce from Farm Fresh To You. The box comes filled with green leafy vegetables, many I’ve never used before, and it’s always a surprise! I like trying new vegetables- all vegetables are good for you until you experience otherwise.

I’ve used Swiss Chard in soups, have sauted them for sides, and was a little bored of doing the same thing. So, this time I decided to try using it as part of a main dish.

What You Need

  • 1 1/2 Cup of Brown Basmati Rice
  • 1 Lemon
  • 3 1/2 Cups of Vegetable Broth
  • 1 Bunch Swiss Chard
  • 2 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 Cup of peanuts

How Its Done

  1. Wash the rice and put it in your rice cooker along with 3 cups of vegetable broth and a couple of pinches of salt (if your vegetable broth has salt, adjust for that). Also add the juice of 1/2 a lemon and the zest of the whole lemon. Cook the rice as you normally would.
  2. Chop the chard. I remove the stem by folding a lead lengthwise and cutting along the veins. I then stack the leaves and roll them, and then cut thin rounds. I think the official term for the process is “chiffonade”. Wash the leaves well to get rid of any soil.
  3. Heat the olive oil in a non-stick saucepan. Add to it the two cloves of garlic, minced ( I use my handy garlic press for this). Sauté for a minute making sure the garlic does not burn. Add the washed chard and sauté till the leaves are wilted. Add salt and pepper to taste and let cook till done. Finally, add the juice of the remaining half of the lemon.
  4. While the chard is cooking, roast the peanuts till they are crunchy. I like to roast them with their skins as they have a distinct, earthy flavor.
  5. Mix the cooked rice and chard and garnish with roasted peanuts.

I served the Swiss Chard Lemon Rice with beluga lentils cooked with carrots, spiced with some cumin powder and a quarter jalapeño. The swiss chard rice has the tangy, refreshing taste of lemon and the crunchy earthy flavor from the peanuts. The vegetable broth adds another dimension to the rice, making the meal complelety satisfying! Try it..

7 Comments
  1. Using Swiss Chard in lemon rice is a great idea too. Have you tried sambhar with the chard? The peppery taste of the chard makes it really stand out in the sambhar.

  2. What a clever idea to add Swiss chard to lemon rice. I grew so much of red chard last Summer, I should cook this this year. Thanks for posting! 🙂

  3. What a creative idea adding swiss chards to lemon rice….love it.. 🙂

  4. Now I’m wishing I could get swiss chard here…

Leave a Reply

