Skip to content

Grape Muffins

May 31, 2008

I had a lot of grapes in the house that I needed to use up. Being that it was a sunday morning, I wanted a breakfast dish which wasn’t too high in calories, contained protein and was low fat. For the past few years, thanks to my dear husband, my focus on making anything turns to how many calories does it have? What the carb-protein-fat ratio? And to be honest, I love the challenge…how can I make something delicious without feeling guilty, and using up all my calories per day??

So, I started looking for grape muffin recipes on the internet and found most of them using grape juice instead of real grapes. I gave up on a tried and tested recipe and decide to create my own.

What you need

  1. 1 Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  2. 1 Cup Quaker Oats (plain)
  3. 1 tsp of Baking powder
  4. 1/4 Cup Slivered almonds
  5. 1/4 Cup Eggbeaters
  6. 2 Tbsps Like-Peanut Butter (you can use real peanut butter too- I was going for low fat ;-))
  7. 3/4 Bottle (about 9 ounces) Pomegranate juice (or grape juice- I had Izze Pomegranate on hand)
  8. 1 tsp of Vanilla extract
  9. 1/4 Cup of Splenda for baking
  10. 2 Cups of Fresh seedless Grapes, chopped in halves

How its done

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F.
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients (1 through 4) in a bowl and whisk to mix well
  3. In another bowl, use a handheld electric whisk and whisk the Like-Peanut butter and eggbeaters. Once combined, add the fruit juice, vanilla extract and splenda and mix well.
  4. Now, combine the dry and the wet mixes from 3 and 4 and fold so there are no lumps.
  5. Add the almonds and the grapes and mix.
  6. Spray a 12 mini-muffin tray with baking spray and spoon in the muffin mix.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes till the muffins are risen, golden and delicious!

Each muffin is a 111 calories with only 2 grams of fat. Two make a very satisfying breakfast and according to my hubby dear- best muffins I’d ever baked!

3 Comments
  1. wow..the muffins look lovely!…so tempting…and you used oats too..very healthy!

  2. By grapes do you mean fresh grapes or the sun-dried variety? Can this be done without eggs, btw?

  3. Good point, A-kay; I do mean fresh grapes- I used the dark, seedless kind. While I haven’t made this recipe without eggs, I’ve made other muffins with yogurt or applesauce (unsweetened) as egg substitutes. For yogurt, its usually 3/4 of a cup for 1 egg and for applesauce, 1/4 cup usually does the trick.

Leave a Reply

