Skip to content

Ayurvedic Lentil Barley Vegetable Soup

October 10, 2008

I attended an Ayurvedic Cookery Course a few months ago. The course is offered periodically by the Art of Living Foundation and you can read more about at www.artofliving.org. The course was not just about cooking and recipes. Rather I learned the principles of Ayurveda, the science of life, and how they can help me live a healthy life by being aware of the composition of different body types, of vegetables and food types that work for the various body types , the six tastes and of the environment etc. I know I have not even begun to scratch the surface in learning Ayurveda, but I woud recommend this course to you because I learned a lot and it made me very aware of how what I eat and my daily routine affects how I feel. For locals in the SF Bay Area, the next course starts on November 6th- you can click here to review and register. 

Anyway , since the course, I try to adopt as many of the principles as I can to my recipes. For example, I use turmeric and asafoetida in most dals I make. When I can, I soak the dals overnight so their sprouting process begins and enhances their nutrition. On a hot day, I use fennel seeds and coriander powder in my vegetable stir fry for their cooling qualities. This soup recipe incorporates some if the ayurvedic principles.

WHAT YOU NEED

- 1 Cup of Whole Masoor sal
- 1/2 a Cup of Rajma or kidney beans
- 1/2 a Cup of Pearl Barley
- 1 Carrot, diced
- 1 Cup of chopped green beans
- 1/2 a Tsp of turmeric
- 1 Tsp of coriander powder
- 1/2 a Tsp of asafoetida
- 1 1/2 Tsp of olive oil
- A 1/2 inch piece of Ginger
- salt to taste
- 4 Cups of water

HOW ITS DONE
1. Soak the Dal, rajma and barley with twice the water, overnight.
2. Heat the oil in a soup pot and add the spice powders. Then add the Ginger, minced.
3. Drain the dal, rajma and barley, and add it to the pot with the water. Let this cook for about 30 minutes, till they are almost done.
4. Add the diced carrots and salt to taste and cook foe another 10 minutes. The carrots should be almost done.
5. Finally, add the chopped beans and cook till they’re done. The vegetables should still be crunchy. Turn off the heat.

Served with fresh arugula or spinach on top, this soup is a hearty, filling , yet light one pot meal that energizes you!

6 Comments
  1. That really sound like one delicious and healthy pot of soup

  2. Shruthi permalink

    You have a great *healthy* blog going there! Good job!

    -Shruthi

  3. Very informative post…the soup seems simple healthy and looks delicious :)

  4. This is truly a sumptuous and healthy soup to prepare. Didn’t know Art of Living taught basics of ayurveda and some cooking tips too. Thanks for sharing.

  5. *sigh* The soup looks gorgeous, but my problem is with barley… I dont like that slimy sort of texture. I have the same problem with urad dal. What could I use as a substitute, do you think?

  6. The soup looks awesome; I have been meaning to attend the Ayurvedic cooking course too, but somehow the schedule never works well for me. Hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

