Skip to content

Dandelion Greens Poriyal

May 28, 2008

The first time I tried cooking dandelion greens, I heated some oil, added some mustard seeds, a dried red chilli and some urad dal and added the chopped greens and cooked till done. It was very bitter and almost like eating a raw karela…. Now, I’ve been wanting to make dandelion greens palatable because of the wonderful things I’d read about it and because I love greens of all kinds. You can read about them more here, but in a nutshell these greens are a powerhouse of nutrition and contains calcium, vitamin E, vitamin A and many other minerals our body needs. So, when I tasted the Vallara Keerai poriyal that my sister-in-law had made, the light bulb went on. I’d never tasted or heard of vallara keerai in my life until that day. Apparently,it is a bitter green leafy vegetable readily available in India, not sure if they’re as readily available in the US. The bitter flavor reminded me of dandeliion greens, which are available here. So, I adapted my SIL’s recipe for dandelion greens and it was delish, to quote Rachel Ray…served with rice and a tangy rasam, makes a perfect, satisfying meal.

What you need

  • 1 Bunch Dandelion greens
  • 1/2 cup of yellow moong dal
  • 1 tsp of cooking oil
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp of methi seeds
  • 1/2 tsp of asafoetida
  • 1 dried red chilli
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup grated coconut (optional)

How its done

  1. Soak the moong dal in water, just enough to cover it.
  2. Trim the stems and chop the dandelion greens. I just roll the leaves and cut them into 1/2 inch ringlets. Wash the leaves to get rid of any dirt that might be still stuck on them.
  3. Heat a non-stick pan and add the oil. When the oil heats up add the cumin seeds and the methi seeds. When the methi seeds start to brown, add the redi chilli and then add the chopped greens and let cook. Add a little bit of salt ( make sure you don’t add too much at this stage- I add the salt to help the leaves release their juices)
  4. When the greens are about done, add the soaked dal and cook for a minute or so. Now add any additional salt and then top with the grated coconut, if using.

I love these greens with a spicy Poondu rasam or a Kothamalli rasam and rice.

8 Comments
  1. wow..I have never made with this veggie…looks good!

  2. Revathi permalink

    Great recipe. Me and my husband loved it. :)
    Thanks a lot for sharing

  3. Pranav permalink

    what is dandellion called in hindi? where can i find it?

  4. I made this last night and it turned out very well. I used ghee instead of oil. I think it added a very welcome sweetness to counteract the bitterness although I do love bitter flavors.

    • Thanks, Aneela. Glad that you tried it and it turned out well. I like the bitterness of dandelion greens as well, although I feel I am the minority :-)

  5. Aysen Eser permalink

    You should boil the leaves first drain water then cook then it won’t be bitter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

